In 2022, a total of 27 players that have participated in the Frisco Bowl were either drafted or signed free agent contracts with the National Football League. Over the past three years, this increases the total number of Frisco Bowl participants being either drafted or signing free agent contracts with the National Football League to 63 Players.

This certainly speaks to the quality of players that have appeared in the bowl game, as this is just a three-year look at the talented players that have visited Toyota Stadium as part of the Frisco Bowl experience.

The 27 players moving onto the NFL from the Frisco Bowl in 2022 include:

NFL Draft:

Round 3 | Pick 87 – Cameron Thomas (DE – San Diego State) – Arizona Cardinals

Round 3 | Pick 105 – Danny Gray (WR – SMU) – San Francisco 49ers

Round 4 | Pick 112 – Daniel Bellinger (TE – San Diego State) – New York Giants

Round 4 | Pick 134 – Spencer Burford (OL – UTSA) – San Francisco 49ers

Round 5 | Pick 153 – Tariq Woolen (CB – UTSA) – Seattle Seahawks

Round 6 | Pick 180 – Matt Araiza (P – San Diego State) – Buffalo Bills

Round 6 | Pick 186 – Zach Thomas (OL – San Diego State) – Chicago Bears

Round 6 | Pick 198 – Grant Calcaterra (TE – SMU) – Philadelphia Eagles

Free Agent Signings:

San Diego State University

Greg Bell (RB) – Detroit Lions

Trenton Thompson (S) – New York Giants

William Dunkle (OL) – Philadelphia Eagles

Tayler Hawkins (CB) – San Francisco 49ers

Segun Olubi (LB) – San Francisco 49ers


Sincere McCormick (RB) – Las Vegas Raiders

Charles Wiley (OLB) – Baltimore Ravens

Leroy Watson (TE) – Atlanta Falcons

Clarence Hicks (OLB) – Cincinnati Bengals

Utah State University

Devin Thompkins (WR) – Tampa Bay Buccaneers

Savon Scarver (WR) – Chicago Bears

Derek Wright (WR) – Carolina Panthers

Jaylen Warren (RB) – Pittsburgh Steelers (transferred to Oklahoma St. in 2021)

Kent State University

Dustin Crum (QB) – Kansas City Chiefs

Keshunn Abram (WR) – New York Jets

Qwuantrezz Knight (DB) – San Francisco 49ers (transferred to UCLA in 2020)


Reggie Roberson Jr. (WR) – Tennessee Titans

Trevor Denbow (S) – Indianapolis Colts

Hayden Howerton (OL) – Tennessee Titans